Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of children’s time. They think that their children should read only serious educational books. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is believed by some parents that children ought to read educational books only, and consider books for entertainment as a complete waste of their time. In my opinion, both educational and entertainment books are indispensable in a juvenile’s life, as both category books are imperative for a child’s development. To begin with, the majority of parents want their child to fully focus on reading educational books rather than spending their time on time-pass books. Parents always want good for their child so, in order for them to obtain good grades and to have a secure future, they want their child to focus and study their curriculum books. Moreover, educational books, such as math and science aid to developing problem-solving and critical thinking skills, which are crucial skills as they grow up. Thus, educational books develop children’s intelligence and study skills. On the contrary, entertainment books, namely: novels, comics, short story books aid to improve a child’s creativity and imagination, which are also an essential part of life. Furthermore, in text books, there are a plethora of things only related to certain subjects, which juveniles easily gets bored if they are only allowed to read educational books. Entertainment books help them to refresh themselves from study stress, as a result, they would be more focused. Additionally, reading novels aid them to boost their reading skills as well. To conclude, both educational and entertainment books are indispensable in a child’s life. Both types of book help to develop skills that are imperative as they grow up and for their careers.