In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

There is life after high school graduation and many individuals get confused on what course to go for after graduating senior high. In most societies, many people are advised to have a job or travel for some period of time before joining any college in other to see life differently. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of this on a young lad who decides to engage in adventure. One of the advantages of working or having a tour around countries after secondary school before going into a higher institution is that it gives you the opportunity to appreciate life and decide on what to major in. For instance, when a youngster decides to volunteer in a community clinic while focusing on what course to major in, it gives them a sense of direction on what program they would like to venture into as they are better exposed. Furthermore, while on this journey they may find out that the program they had wanted to pursue does not give them enough gratification as a result, they may opt to try another course. In fact, these lad ends up feeling fulfilled at what they do as they did not make the choice under pressure. On the other hand, some people see this move as a waste of time because they believe that while these lads are busying touring across borders, they may decide not to continue with their education as they might get carried away. For example, a young female student might get pregnant while on vacation and if not properly encouraged to continue studying, it might be the end of her dreams. As a result, they become frustrated and might even drop out of college. In conclusion, it is paramount for one to be on the right track when choosing a field of study. While some people find fulfilment in participating in jobs right after high school before college, others may view it as a waste of time.