Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In modern days, we are presented with abundant choices of medicines and health measures, which can potentially shift a conventional doctor visit. In this essay, I will discuss how this is not a positive change, which is followed by the reasons behind this statement. Firstly, the internet often leads society to adapt to certain trends with no thorough credibility-checking to avoid the potential damages caused. For instance, during the peak COVID-19 outbreak in Indonesia, social media influences caused a great number of citizens to buy a UV light machine, which claimed to kill the viruses in the air. Consequently, those people used the machine to obtain security from the infectious virus, which led to a massive skyrocketing infected cases of COVID-19. Moreover, the lack of trustful sources of information and awareness to debunk them are the culprits of self-treatment failures. Secondly, even after rapid developments of AI technologies and telemedicine, educated health workers are still very needed to handle the patients as health rehabilitation is not about knowledge and theory but also needs a touch of empathy and instinct from human practitioners. For example, research found that patients who are treated by human doctors have the tendency to feel more content compared to those who are handled by robots. As a result, the former show significant health improvements and are allegedly caused by social fulfilment from human interactions. Hence, human professionals are still irreplaceable by AI and technologies. In conclusion, the widespread misleading information in the media and the irreplaceable humane quality which robots can not replicate is evidence of why doctors' appointments are still the superior choice for current health rehabilitation. Nonetheless, future technologies and research may be able to surpass this method and bring a much better solution for the world's wellness quality.