Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What are the potential disadvantages of being self employed?

Many people today opt to work for themselves rather than have a job. This choice comes with a number of benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay. Some of the most common reasons for self-employment are the income and lifestyle it can provide. Unlike employees whose responsibilities and salaries are determined by their employer, people who work for themselves are free to implement their ideas as quickly as they like, and they receive all the revenue. This means that a self-employed individual can potentially earn much more than people with similar skills and experience working for a salary. Moreover, not having a boss means that people can choose their working hours and number of holidays. Therefore, not surprisingly, more and more people are leaving the safety of a salary job to become self-employed. Despite the obvious benefits, working for oneself is risky. Entrepreneurs and free-lancers are not guaranteed a specific income, nor are they eligible for a pension or sick leaves as are their employed counteerparts. Furthermore, the workload is also high. Unlike employees who can specialize in one skill, the self-employed are required to manage all aspects of business operations, from marketing the product all the way to delivering it to the customers. This multitude of issues that self-employed individuals have to manage subject them to more stress and anxiety than full-time employees experience. To conclude, More and more people are being self-employeed, choosing the flexibility and potential it provides. However, on the downside, these people are not guaranteed a stable and sufficient income and must take full responsibility for themselves.