Q. Giving lectures in auditoriums to large numbers of students is an old way of teaching. With the technology available today there is no justification for it, and everything should be done online. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

There is a strong debate on whether online lectures should be given in all circumstances. In my opinion, both online teaching and in-person lectures have their own benefits. As such, we should not abandon the traditional way of teaching. This essay will discuss and analyse these two ways of teaching. On the one hand, online teaching brings a lot of convenience to students’ lives. With the help of the new technology, we are able to attend lectures via Zoom or Team at home during the pandemic at any place around the world while there are multiple restrictions on face-to-face classes. Furthermore, the e-classes would save our time spending on transportation. However, I would also argue that the traditional way of teaching brings more interactions between teachers and students. It appears to be difficult for more than a person to raise questions at the same time during the Zoom call. Also, in the face-to-face lecture, people are more likely to concentrate on the class as we would receive a variety of distractions when we study at home. For example, you cannot focus on the screen for a while and probably begin to surf the internet at some points. Moreover, the campus is a place for the youth to socialise and meet new people. E-meeting people is great but it feels really different from meeting people in person. In conclusion, I agree that online teaching brings an of lot benefits to us but I hold the reserved view that we should only have online lectures thereafter.