Stress is now a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the factors in modern society that cause this stress, and how can we reduce it?

Stress is now the subject of increasing concern in many nations worldwide. There are a wide range of reasons for this problem and this essay will elaborate on the two major causes and how to combat them. To commence with, stress can root in a heavy workload at the workplace. In a real sense, people tend to devote half a day to sitting in front of computers at their offices. As a result, a 24-hour day is not sufficient for them to spend with their family or on their hobbies. Furthermore, discrimination and harassment are now deteriorating, thus, resulting in stress. There is no doubt that numerous people, particularly the young, are the victims of social evils such as body shaming, word violence, or gender discrimination. These issues have a detrimental effect on people's mental well-being, for example, some celebrities chose to end their life because of facing up to criticism from the public. Dealing with these factors is an uphill struggle so both organizations and authorities should take concrete actions to resolve them. One effective solution is to focus on enhancing job satisfaction among the workforce. To be more specific, companies should establish standards with a view to providing their employees with healthy working environment. To illustrate, Unilever, a big retail company, is deemed to be a worthy working place by their employees due to their work-life balance policy. In addition, the government should expose related laws to prevent people from using inappropriate words. A good example is the internet security law that Vietnamese policymakers are about to publish to punish those with negative behaviours on the Internet that inflict others' reputations. To conclude, stress results from mainly work and others' criticism. Therefore, there is a need to plough ahead with measures to help people be satisfied with their work as well as control the negative and impulsive thoughts of individuals.