Some think increasing business and cultural contact between nations is positive. Others think it leads to the disappearance of the national identity. Discuss both views and state your own opinion

It has been suggested that having a bilateral relationship between countries is good, while others feel it leads to loss of value as a nation. In this essay, I will be analysing and discussing both views and at the end, I will reach a conclusion based on the outcome of the discussion. Having more economic and cultural contact between the populace is quite beneficial. This has been seen to improve relationships between different countries where they have been of help to one another. For instance, the interaction in the form of export has helped countries to improve the well-being of their citizens resulting in the improved economic and social status of the natives. However, these benefits would not have been made possible without the contact. On the other hand, some countries are already becoming alien to their roots and customs. The interaction between nations has caused so much dilution that indigenous ways of living is depleting. For example, in a Nigerian home, it is quite hard to see a local child with the ability to speak his or her native language, because in Nigeria we have adopted the English language to the detriment of our own local languages, which is disappearing. Therefore, cases as such suggest that the heightened contact kills the natural lifestyle of the people. In conclusion, many people have the view that more interaction between countries in terms of trade and customs is beneficial, while some think it erodes the national values. This essay discussed that it improves the relationship between the countries, while on the other hand, it causes eroding of values. In my opinion, I agree that it has more benefits than the downside.