It is often said that crime is one of the main things that make the quality of life poorer. Crime in developed countries is one of the biggest problems in society. What are the causes of this problem and what measures can be taken to reduce it?

Senators and deputies are constantly debating about how could they possibly enhance citizens ‘life quality. Crime rates are repeatedly pointed at to be the main reason for the security deficit. This essay will illustrate numerous causes of this problem, whilst proposing measures that can palliate this urgent issue. First and foremost, it is undeniable that illiteracy and unemployment are the key reason for this crisis. Impoverished and jobless persons have no choice but to steal to survive, moreover it has been clearly established that literacy percentages are the lowest amongst prisoners. Furthermore, easy money has always attracted bad witted individuals, especially in countries that suffer from corruption and a lack of police officers. In addition, a recent survey published by a reliable sociologist asserted that in regions where gun prohibition is not enforced yet, burglaries and death tolls are higher when compared to states that prohibit weapons. On the other hand, a plethora of measures can be taken to overcome our present problem. Firstly, governments should enforce laws, that enable judges to enlarge detention sentences, this will inevitably make criminals reluctant to commit crimes. Secondly, deputies should endeavour more on creating new job offers. In the meantime, it is the onus of governors to create new education programs that will instil patriotism and unity amongst pupils, such as civic lectures for instance. To sum up, criminal acts are strongly believed to be the core of the insecurity crisis. The aforementioned solutions, if they are ever implemented will surely help lower felony rates and enhance the quality of life of individuals.