6. International tourism has led to an huge increase in the number of visitors to many historical sites around the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative phenomenon?

The amount of foreign tourists visiting ancient sites around the world has increased dramatically. This essay agrees that this is a positive phenomenon since it supports the economic development of the country and it provides more awareness in tourists about how to look after historical sites. One strong reason why this essay believes that the previous statement represents a positive phenomenon is because a numerous amount of foreign people traveling to visit ancient sites, would be reflected in an increased economic income for the nation. For example, in the city of Cusco (Peru), thousands of tourists spend a decent budget of money to visit “Machu Picchu” which is counted as one of the “7 wonders around the world ” and it is known for being a famous construction made by the incas. In addition, while international tourism has been more prominent during the last years (especially in historical places) this has also led visitors to get more awareness and knowledge about the conditions in which many of these ancient areas rest. Although the situation in which visitors encounter the areas is poor, they have the chance to learn how to support their preservation. For example, in Sydney there are different national reserve programs in which any person can help as a volunteer to look after the area. In conclusion, it is evident that international tourism has increased, leading to a higher amount of tourists visiting ancient sites. This definitely represents a positive phenomenon since it provides the country a higher economic income and it provides tourists with the opportunity to learn how to preserve the place.