In some cultures children are often told that can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many traditions, parents always teach their offspring that if they work hard enough, they can complete anything they would like. Although this message can provide a number of benefits, it can also disappoint them. On the one hand, one of the advantages of telling the children to try hard is that it can motivate them to accomplish their goals. In other words, if they are exhausted or disappointed, this message can encourage them to keep on being patient for what they would like. Furthermore, it makes them feel better when they are disheartened. For example, if students who worked hard to get a top score fail the test, telling this message to them will make them feel good and try harder to get a top score. On the other hand, the obvious drawback of this speech is that it may discourage minors when they cannot achieve their goals. To illustrate, if junior athletes who practised seriously are defeated, they may think that this speech is not true and no longer follow their dreams. In addition, teenagers may completely believe in this speech and set up their aims that are quite impossible. In simple terms, when some youngsters who hope to be millionaires at the age of 30 cannot reach their ambitions, they may think that they are failures and in some cases, they may commit suicide. To summarize, even if teaching the children to try hard in order to carry out their dreams will offer vast advantages, it may also discourage them and make them feel like they are failures.