Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is an undeniable fact that punishment for crimes is always one of the fiery issues in our society. There is a debate on whether criminals should receive a standard sentence regardless of the situation or if the circumstances surrounding the crime should be considered before determining the punishment. This essay will explore both perspectives, however, I personally lean towards the idea of taking into account the context of the crime when sentencing an individual. One perspective suggests that implementing fixed penalties for various crimes can effectively maintain social order and decrease crime rates. This is because individuals will face consequences for their irresponsible actions, which will make them reconsider breaking the law. For example, Vietnam is one of the few countries with the toughest punishments for drug crime. Anyone found guilty of possessing more than 600 grams of heroin, or more than 20 kilograms of opium, can face capital punishment. Considering all factors comprehensively, taking into account all factors in a comprehensive manner can lead to a more unbiased assessment of offenders. To elaborate further, various situations and intricate aspects of human nature intertwine to generate different motivations for a particular crime. For instance, individuals may resort to self-defense when faced with murderers or unintentionally cause manslaughter while driving. Although these two scenarios can be categorized as the same crime, namely murder, both criminals do not display aggressive intentions towards their victims. If the court were to impose identical punishments for these cases as it does for general murder, it would fail to administer justice to innocent individuals and reveal a lack of objectivity in the legal system. In conclusion, there are various perspectives on whether consistent punishment should be applied to each category of crime or if the underlying intent and circumstances leading to the crime should also be taken into consideration. I am, firmly, in favor of the latter position, owing to the reasons delineated previously.