Some people believe that children leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Some people think that pupils should spend their leisure time doing educational activities, or else they will completely waste their time. I totally disagree with this view because I believe that children may have their own decision on how they utilize their time to do another non- educational activities. On the contrary, it can be counterproductive to force a child to study all day, even in his free time. Firstly, learning is a lifelong process. So, the time one spends learning will never be limited. For that reason, children should not be forced to study when they have time to relax. Thus, It is a fatal mistake to regard children's non-educational activities in their free time as a waste of time. Not every child has enough energy to study constantly. And, having to study too much may cause depression, tiredness and pressure for a child. For instance, in China, some children have psychological problems and issues with health due to the fact that the only thing they do is studying. Secondly, just learning, even during leisure time will definitely make it impossible for children to have good physical health because they do not get any exercises. Participating in physical activity plays a huge role (in what?), and it is also an important factor for children to be interested in learning as they have more energy and have time to release their stress and pressure. In addition, studying too much can deprive children of the opportunity to learn essential life skills. In conclusion, I oppose the idea that children ’s leisure activities must be educational as this idea may bring numerous disadvantages. Also, I would recommend parents control children's free time by limiting their time using the phone and encouraging them to take some outdoor activities.