Some people say that travelling abroad is necessary to get knowledge about other countries, while others suggest that TV and the internet can also help people know about foreign countries. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have distinctive opinions about whether to learn about other regions in the world through televisions and the internet or by trips. While the information on TV and the internet can be helpful, I believe that travelling abroad is a better option for learning about foreign countries. On the one hand, there are many methods to know through media. These platforms provide us with a wide range of information from various sources, therefore immense pieces of knowledge are to be gained if time is spent. For TV, different well-produced channels and programs including news and documentary films are available. In the form of visualised contexts in books, the acknowledging process may probably be quick and efficient. Moreover, many online platforms like Google Scholar and JSTUR collect articles so that we can get access to a sufficient number of books and documents for research. On the other hand, travelling overseas is more advantaged in the process of learning about other regions. Firstly, it is a practical and experiential way of studying as well as a more engaging one because we can visit the historical buildings, contemporary art galleries and museums on our own. Secondly, people may have a thorough understanding of the foreign culture during the trips if they make friends with local dwellers which means the opportunity to participate in their events. Finally, attachment to the residents there is useful for practising the original language whereas we can get first -hand information related to the history and traditions of the country. In conclusion, I can understand why many people choose to gain knowledge about other countries from TV and online platforms but it seems to me that a journey to the place is more desirable.