Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whilst many think that news has nothing to do with the lives of people, I believe that news plays an important role, so reading the newspaper regularly and watching television help us to stay updated with what's happening around the world. To begin with, the first reason for my disagreement with the statement is that, watching or reading the news helps individuals to stay informed about things not only nationally, but also internationally. Also, a person who has a habit of listening to or reading news is considered to be the most knowledgeable person as he stays tuned with the current affairs across the globe. Moreover, international news promotes the understanding of global issues and interconnectedness. If we talk about news related to culture, then it makes people aware of the social and cultural affairs in the society. In addition, news also assists people with the latest information on science, technology, wars, and politics. Staying informed about politics helps people to make democratic decisions. Individuals can always stay alert with the help of news. Not only this, news also provides information about various stock markets, and people can invest their money in the market accordingly. Besides this, during COVID-19, the news was the only way to know about outside situations as most people were quarantined at home. In conclusion, I disagree with the statement as news is the only source through which humans can stay connected and up-to-date with the world, and listening, watching or reading news through televisions and newspapers cannot be considered a waste of time.