As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

Environmental degradation has been considered as one of the biggest problems the world is facing today.It is often believed that increasing the price of fuels is one of the best practices to mitigate this issue. Although increasing the cost of fuel can solve this problem to an extend, inventing alternate modes of transportation has more benefits. Today, a majority population, across the world, use their own private vehicle for travelling, resulting in a proliferation of air contamination as they exhaust toxic fumes and greenhouse gases into the air. If the government can incline the cost of fuels, many individuals in developing countries cannot afford to buy and use vehicles. As a result, there will be a significant decline in the number of cars on the road,which will inevitably lead to a reduction in environmental issues. For example, it was reported that, in Nigeria, air pollution has been drooped by 20% when administrative has increased petrol price, and people relayed more on public transportation. However, the cost of living also increases along with fuel prices, which will contribute to other issues in society. In the contrast to the above,the government should promote alternative means of transportation in order to save our nature. First and foremost, if the ministry can provide more comfortable public vehicles,more people will get attracted to use them rather than using their private cars or bikes. For instance,when AC buses are introduced in Bangalore, many professionals started using them as they provide more luxuries such as an air -conditioner, entertainment and cushioned seats. In addition, the administration should invest a huge amount in replacing automobiles with electrical or solar vehicles, so that air pollution can be reduced. Due to the aforementioned reasons, one can say that there are other effective ways to save our environment. To conclude,it is evident that our nature is getting damaged day by day, and an ever-increasing car on the road has a major contribution to it. Even though increasing the cost of gasoline can reduce this issue to some degree, the government should provide other feasible transport methods as high petrol prices can affect common people very badly.