Car ownership has increased rapidly over the past thirty years

It is undeniable that there has been a significant upward trend in the number of cars running on roads over the past thirty years. One even states that the world is now 'one big traffic jam'. In other words, many cities are currently crowded with these 4-wheel vehicles. From my point of view, I firmly agree with this statement, and government must take part in curbing the problem. Following the expansion of the urban areas, the popularity of using cars to commute exploded. This is because, firstly, automobile companies offer a more varied price range, which makes cars more affordable than it has been in the past. People who have low income are now able to buy a car which suits their preference. Also, road infrastructure, the most common type of transportation system, has been improved dramatically, while other choices such as trains and buses are still underdeveloped, especially in a developing country. All these reasons lead to heavy traffic on road, which could cause serious problems such as air pollution. As a result, it is crucial that the government must come up with new measures to discourage the use of cars. To begin with, new regulations that could reduce traffic density should be applied to drivers. For example, big cars with more than four wheels, such as trucks, should not be allowed on the main road during prime time. Secondly, carpooling should be encouraged. In other words, drivers are supported to share their vehicles with others who are heading in the same direction. In addition, the key solution is to improve those alternative transportation systems. More bus lines should be available for passengers, as well as bicycle paths and railways. The affordable cost is also the main issue that providers must take into their consideration. These measures will require a collaboration between the government and the private sector, in order to successfully achieve the best outcome. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that nowadays in many cities roads are jammed with cars, which could lead to bad consequences. It is necessary that not only government but also everyone in the system should take part in tackling problems.