Some people think old buildings should be kept because they reflect the unique culture of a society while modern buildings look alike. Other say that today there should be more modern buildings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Architecture is undoubtedly a pivotal key to facilitate residents and to give an urban view to the city. There are two sides of opponents that discuss the statement regarded to the city infrastructure: some people claim that historical and old-fashioned buildings should be preserved in a decent condition since they mirror the culture of society, while others support another idea, being stick to the vision that there should be built more modern buildings in contemporary cities. In this essay, I will consider both sides and on basis of them I will provide my own. From one perspective, solicitors of one side state that more modern buildings should be erected nowadays. Looking the given question from their view, it is evident that due to the outnumbering population growth, people have to build concrete skyscrapers up to the blue sky and should expose of old cute-looking buildings which are not comfortable enough for modern people’s preference or demand. That is to say, that modern cities’ infrastructure should be like in fan-fiction films: huge-glass-solid and flying buildings with concrete jungle environment. However, on the other hand, it is undeniable that old buildings has a deep historical content in contrast to the modern ones. That is to say, these buildings are considered as a cultural heritage of human beings and an indicator of the society development. Personally, I absolutely agree with this part of the statement, since ancient buildings can be a unique and exclusive showpiece of the whole country. The vivid and almost obvious example is European countries. For instance, in Moscow, the capital of Russia, the government protects historical buildings and does not allow different construction companies to remove them in order to erect new ones, moreover officials does not even allow to change the facade of these buildings. However, I do not take their side completely, since in addition of their statement people of this point of view argue that modern buildings look alike. Inversely, nowadays urbanists try to widely range designs of towns in favour of nature preservation. Singapore, Japan may be the best-known proves for that. In conclusion I would say that the perfect city is that one which has a perfect proportion of old, historical, and modern construction.