Many cities have become less pleasant places to live in recent years. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

More and more metropolitans around the world are becoming unpleasant locations to live in the last few years. I strongly believe that although traffic congestion and shortage of housing are serious problems,that there are viable solutions. One major problem is traffic congestion. This is a problem because getting stuck in traffic for long hours makes people waste their productivity and relaxation time. The main cause of this in most cities is the continuous increases in the quantity of private cars while the number of traffic routes remain the same. One possible solution would be for the state governments to construct more roadways linking many nearby satellite cities districts and encourage local people to commute by public transport instead of personal cars. For example, in 2012, Malaysian government reduced the metro fare and constructed more highways covering all areas, including business and residential areas, in and around Kuala Lumpur, which resulted in generating more working and leisure time for people. Another major problem is a shortage of housing. One negative effect is that property accommodation prices and rents are extremely expensive while finding a satisfactory residence is more difficult. The main cause of this is the relativeover -development in the of capital cities only, which leads to high density of population in a single area. A solution, which would certainly be effective, is for the national authority to expand business and economic development and connectivitys through rural areas. For instance, in the 1950s, Japanese government decided to distribute their commercial space throughout two cities, including Osaka and Sendai, which resulted in a 10% decrease of accommodation cost in Tokyo in the following 3 years. In conclusion, issues with traffic and insufficiency in housing are major concerns in city centers worldwide, I think these solutions would be effective. I recommend that governments always prepare their plans beforehand in order to solve the problems happening and improve the life quality of their citizens together.