Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion

There are those who agree that mixing students with different skills learning together, while the others are of the opinion that selecting them based on their academic abilities is more beneficial. Although some believe that putting their students into mixed-ability classes has numerous advantages, I strongly agree that grouping students by their academic performance has more merits. On the one hand, dedicating groups for academically-inclined students to boost overall academic performance tends to point to various of reasons. First and foremost, students tend to gain knowledge better and overcome their weaknesses when they have experience with people who are better than them. To illustrate, students, who are good at academic study but weak in related arts subjects, can learn how to improve if their peers provide assistance, resulting in them becoming more well-rounded individuals. Another compelling reason is that through collaboration activities or group assignments, mixed ability classes encourage better support and friendship among students of varying performance levels. For instance, if children are encouraged to cooperate, increasing their collaboration abilities, which will be essential in their future careers. On the other hand, I would argue that it is more effective to have the same academic discipline. The primary reason is that higher-level learners can gain deeper understandings than less academically motivated students and can be encouraged to expand their ability. For example, teachers can easily plan more suitable lessons and the faster speed for the students since they all have the same skills. Whereas, being in mixed classes can be distracted by other students because they may ask the teacher what is easy for high academic levels but they don't know, which makes students feel a sense of boredom in the same classes. In conclusion, although mixed-ability classes can promote students ' performance and cooperative skills, I strongly believe that schools should decide on students ’ admission on the basis of academic performances.