Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that adding more and more sports centres is the best way to improve people's health, others think there are better ways to do this. Although increasing the number of gyms would motivate people to exercise, educating them about health is far more effective. On the one hand, building more and more sports centres would encourage people to practice physical activities. People will have no excuse os doing sports if they have many sports facilities near their houses. This is why increasing the number of sports centres will ensure that people will have access to these facilities and eventually, it will positively affect their health. For example, back in 2015, fifty new gyms were open in Amman and a vast number of people started exercising for the first time in their lives and they became healthier. However, I think this is a temporary solution and better steps should be taken. On the other hand, educating people about their health has proven to be an effective way to increase public health. When schools start teaching children from an early age about their health and what they can do to improve it, these children will grow up acquiring the needed knowledge to continue their healthy lifestyle. For instance, Japan is considered the healthiest country because the people of Japan were educated about their health in school. In conclusion, despite the importance of establishing more sports centres to boost people's health, teaching people from an early age will have a huge influence on their health.