Holding International games such as The Olympic Games is an exciting event. Some people think that it has positive effects while other argue that it is a waste of money. Discuss both sides of view and give your own opinion.

Major international events are fascinating. The city host usually has their once in a lifetime experience as being the world’s spotlight. On the other hand, several people tend to believe this leads to unreasonable financial expenditure. As far as I concerned, although International games are overpriced, they are satisfactory to a long-term city’s legacy. This essay will present a discussion of both sides of view. Firstly, when a country wins the bid to host an Olympic Games is the chance of being broadcasting worldwide and becoming the spotlight. Media coverage before and during the games is undeniable and this fact leads to an exposure that will bring more visitors. For example, Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic games held in Brazil had increased 40% tourist’s visits through 2 years after the Games. Therefore, hosting international events can be remarkable to economic growth through the tourism industry. However, hosting the Olympic Games can be catastrophic if not well planned. It is crucial to plan a long term and map out all the sports venues on how they can be used after the games, otherwise, several venues can become white-elephants stadiums. To illustrate this, the Athena’s Olympics Games in 2004 was an outstanding event, notwithstanding, it was not well organized and most of the arenas nowadays are destroyed due to time. Thus, a plethora of money can be spent when a country receives the bid of a Games and the return of investment can be pointless if not well-planned. To conclude, from the arguments presented above, it is inconceivable to believe that financial expenditure does not exist. Nevertheless, there is positive effects as well as drawbacks when hosting any mega event.