The only reason people work hard is to earn more money. There are no other reasons to do it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, in the materialistic society where we live people tend to work as hard as they can only to outstanding a superficial life buying goods. Some people believe that their main and only reason to work is to earn money. As far as I am concerned, individuals have other motivations to gain in their professional life rather than money. This essay will discuss the reasons why I extremely believe people have other reasons to go for work besides financially gain. Firstly, workers worldwide will have higher up aspirations rather than remuneration, such as esteem and self-actualization. Once someone goes to university, the desire of achievement in finding a good job, being promoted and having their hard- work rewarded is also part of any person’s aspiration. Maslow Hierarchy of Needs illustrates that employment represented by financial security comes as “Safety needs”, while psychological and self-fulfilment needs will be the top in the pyramid representing all the prestige, feeling of accomplishment and achieving full potential. Therefore, human beings have a vast range of necessities rather than the safety-needs. In addition, despite the psychological approach, another factor can be also spiritual. Spiritual needs are defined as needs and expectations which humans have to find meaning, purpose, and value in their life, such needs can be also applied in their workplace. One remarkable example is Mother Theresa, who remains known in history as someone who is selfless, as a result of committing her time and effort towards helping the less fortunate. Thus, this makes it impossible to justify the fact that people’s only reason for hard work is no other than financial. To conclude, from the arguments presented above, it is inconceivable to believe that financial remuneration is that driven them to work. Although monetary aspiration is a vital factor worker would consider their career aspirations, spiritual beliefs and will also be a reason for them to pursue a job.