Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern views on children’s upbringing vary significantly under the influence of numerous changes in society. Although it is widely believed that working can deteriorate the academic results of teenagers, I firmly believe that they will greatly benefit from having work experience and helping the community. To begin with, young people are at the stage where they acquire their life skills and shape their personality, in a way that will be useful for their future professional career. Being involved in any kind of job, cooperating with colleagues and employers, they will naturally become more communicative, better-organized, and computer literate, which are all examples of the skills to be developed at a young age. In addition to that, character traits can also be improved to bring about a motivated and responsible attitude to the duties as well as a sense of fulfillment acquired while doing good deeds. Secondly, a higher level of morality in society can be considered to be another positive outcome of doing voluntary work. As there is a trend to put money as the main life priority over other moral values, young people focus on profit-generating activities paying no attention to circumstances around and people in need. Doing a job without being paid, they will be taught to put the whole picture into perspective and keep a balance in their life. On the other hand, the main concern caused by combining work and study is connected with the teenagers’ academic performance at school. It is thought that the time spent at work should be allotted to doing home assignments and attending extra-curricular classes to ensure a successful university enrolment. However, I see that situation as an opportunity to learn self-discipline and self-motivation, which are proved to be a workable solution in the case. In conclusion, I am absolutely sure that voluntary employment has a positive influence on teenagers’ career prospects and also makes them better members of society, provided they are ready to prioritize and organize their schedules more carefully and cope with an extra workload.