Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, many people believe that it is beneficial to share information widely in scientific research, business and the academic field. However, others suppose that some data is too precious and sensitive to be publicized. I am going to discuss both these arguments in the following essay and state why I side with the latter. There are several benefits to disclosing information in leading aspects such as science, business and the academic field, with the most prominent one being that it could contribute to the overall development of the world. Simply put, by lifting the restriction of sharing knowledge, society will have easy access to research and formulas that they need for their purposes and ultimately contribute to the development of society as a whole. For example, doctors can learn from other leading doctors in their field and perform sophisticated procedures such as replacing spinal cords to cure patients. Conversely, openly sharing sensitive knowledge could bring about detrimental effects on society, especially when it falls into the hands of people with malicious intentions. This is because these individuals could weaponize scientific results that are supposed to benefit our civilization and turn them into tools to spread civil unrest and chaos. For instance, many Al-Qaeda terrorists are caught crafting bombs to attack important places and politicians with the aim of destabilizing a country. Moreover, publicizing businesses’ financial status could also negatively affect investors as many individuals could purposely misguide the public to harm a business. Thus, I believe some data is simply too strategically crucial to be disclosed widely. In conclusion, sharing information could lead to the overall improvement of our society, but also open the gate for potential civil unrest and chaos. Hence, I support the idea that there should be some restrictions on sharing valuable scientific and academic research, as well as businesses’ financial status.