It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Children need to have their own judgement between right and wrong. There is a discussion that punishment is needed to make them learn the difference. According to the statement above, the essay certainly states that punishment is necessary but, I believe, we also need a reinforcement procedure to encourage children to learn. To begin with, punishment is effective when guardians need to stop students from impolite behaviours. When adolescents act in a mad manner, unfortunately, it is not every time that parents or teachers can stop children from the action. In this circumstance, it is a good situation to teach a child that their action is inappropriate with punishment. Children will learn that making improper habits will make them uncomfortable. To illustrate, if youngsters use rude words with their parents, then they will be abandoned for a certain time. Therefore, they don't recreate the bad behaviour which is, in this case, using bad words. On the other hand, the rewarding method is a good way which encourages students to do a good thing. If the teaching method includes only punishment, adolescents might perceive aggressive behaviours. Instead, reinforcement will make them soft and want to do good behaviours. For instance, when a child responds to their daily tasks without help needed, teachers should give them a reward. This will make the child wants to repeat the habit in order to get a reward again. To summarise, the essay mostly agrees to use punishment on teaching a child about their judgement but other methods such as rewarding methods need to be used too. Last but not least, punishment methods should not be methods that are aggressive to the child; for example, hitting and shouting. It will make them learn to use aggressive behaviour when they grow up. The method that should be used needs to be soft but conflicts with the child willing such as self-quarienteen.