Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, is a trend for senior students from high school to take a year off between finishing the academy and going to university. The majority wants to live new opportunities or to know different places. This might give them more maturity to face the academic life when they get back. In my opinion, the new grades are very young to decide what they want to become in their professional life. Therefore, they might need time to gain some experiences like meeting new people and knowing other cultures. Then, they can see, in real life, how is done daily problems and challenges. In order to face it, the students would be able to choose better what they really can do for a living. However, most of them, during the travel experiences, start to work and it might be a difficulty. Earning their own money, they could be extremely accommodated with this situation and may give up starting college. A prove of it is my nephew, who started a job after he had finished the academy, and he still doesn’t know what he wants to study for university or whether he will do it On the other hand, this non-academic experience could bring different points of view about the profession. Especially if they could work on something that they were assuming to do. When the youth is doing the job, even if that one is a volunteer, they are able to observe first how the task is, how their employees act and, finally how it is done daily. There is no doubt that by watching distinct mindsets, young people will be able to decide if they will follow that profession or not. A good illustration of this is my cousin who has travelled to Ireland after had finished high school. She worked for a family as a babysitter for a year. Thus, during this experience, she has decided to change completely her course for graduation and, when she’s returned, she’s started attending an administration course. Nowadays, she is wildly grateful for the opportunity abroad, and she’s hardly successful in her job. In conclusion, despite having the chance of the person giving the university’s opportunity away, the probability of the travel and non-academic practices bringing better and positive options for the young student is largest.