People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

There is no doubt that sleep deprivation has increased over the years. This essay will explore both the possibilities and consequences which might have resulted from this behaviour. To begin with, one crucial reason of experiencing insufficient sleep is that people tend to live nowadays a way more overwhelming and stressful lifestyle. This is because longer shifts and responsibilities at workplaces often offer little room for individuals to fully relax and unwind. As a result, they tend to otherthink other think about future tasks they might need to perform the following day, thus offering no time for the brain to entirely and peacefully rest. This would bring dramatic aftermaths for their surroundings such as increase of the possible quarrels between workers or loved ones who interact with them. Therefore, such an environment is highly likely to withdraw people into connecting at a deeper and more meaningful level. Another significant reason why people feel more deprived of sleep than it used to be in the past is because of parental duties. For example, single mums or dads whose job it is to educate their offsprings by themselves sometimes struggle to juggle between being a role model for their children and achieving their tasks on time at their office. Considering that nurturing a family is sometimes streneous and this requires a certain amount of energy and dedication, it is no wonder that such routine may affect sleep patterns. This would pose a threat to colleagues and employers as it would hamper their performance of the during working hours, thus reducing their productivity within the company. To conclude, chronic sleep deprivation is often due to a hectic way of living as well as parental responsibilities which can bring a negative atmosphere between people and puts at risk the reliability of workers.