Research has shown that consumerism is a major problem of the young generation due to the effect of the media. why and what are the consequences?

In this day and age, materialism is a main issue of the youngsters because of the ramification of media and this seems to be an increasingly common trend in many parts of the world. This worrying trend could be attributable to some causes, which could bring about several adverse impacts on society as a whole. From my perspective, there are a number of rational explanations for this pressing issue that cannot be neglected. First and foremost, the dominant reason would be that many businesses use celebrity endorsement to boost sales, which could act as the catalyst for the young generation’s imitation of their idol. Consequently, they are inclined to make impulsive purchases to reflect famous stars. Furthermore, another leading factor would be that advertisements and online marketplace appear in every aspect of our life, such as TV commercials, web banners let alone pop-ups. In fact, they still advert on social media platforms, including TikTok, Facebook, youtube because it is easy to make a purchase instantly with a click and thus, they can be a shopaholic. As a consequence, this is so serious an issue that could have a wide variety of underlying hazards that is hard to grapple with. Initially, the most unfavourable effect would be that consumerism is a waste of money, which they can suffer from bankruptcy in the future. Accordingly, they cannot cover the expenses in case of emergencies. Besides, another serious drawback would be that an increase in garbages can occur, which could stem from pollution. It is because when consumers buy new things, they have a tendency of discarding the old ones. The conclusion to be drawn is that although there are several factors leading to this phenomenon whose consequences are far-reaching, it could be alleviated by a range of solutions.