Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Many people believe that schools should choose and admit students based on their academic abilities. Meanwhile, others argue that students with different abilities had better learn together. This essay takes up both perspectives and states my own opinion. To begin with, there are various reasons why schools should select students based on their academic abilities. First of all, since intellectual students are separated from slow learners, teachers can easily design a suitable curriculum. For example, while students with high academic ability can quickly understand advanced materials with little explanation from teachers, weaker students require abundant explanations from teachers to get access to new knowledge. In addition, since fast learners need a little time to progress the tuition, they find it boring and time-consuming to study at a slow pace with the slow learners. Hence, by separating intellectual students from slow learners based on their academic abilities, students will concentrate on schools and hardly pose a boring attitude. By contrast, there are several factors why learners with different abilities should study together. Firstly, classes with different academic abilities can help children cross learn from each other. For instance, those who excel at science but struggle with art subjects can learn painting or singing from their classmates and vice versa. As a result, they might become well-rounded persons. In addition, classes with mixed abilities can encourage students to cooperate with each other. For example, since each student has a unique ability and weakness when they work together, they can help bring out the best in themselves and eliminate weaknesses. Hence, classes with diverse abilities are more beneficial for students. Those are also my perspectives, In conclusion, it is a heated debate about whether teaching centres should stream students or not. In my own perspective, schools should let students with different abilities study together.