Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Fresh produce is exported to nations without the capability to grow them more frequently by plane. The main benefits of this are higher incomes for farmers and being able to address famine, however, the key drawbacks are increased prices and food preservation. Exporting fruit and vegetables to foreign countries raises farmers' incomes. This is because as more agricultural products are transported, the demand of overseas markets for fresh and ordinary produce will eventually increase. Moreover, the growing number of green foodstuffs transported also helps solve food shortages in certain places. Many nations are having to suffer from harsh weather conditions, which leave no room for farm or any other kinds of agriculture, and by delivering fresh vegetables, it can help lots of people with misfortune. For example, Africa is popular for its hot and dry weather, and it makes it impossible for Africans to grow anything on their lands. On the other hand, importing fruit from other places drives up the cost of fresh fruit. That is to say that imported food, especially preserved one, is highly expensive because of taxes and delivery expenses. Another disadvantage is that it requires lots of effort to protect these food from going off. When being delivered, food is usually kept in boxes for long hours, and if it is not maintained correctly, fruit and vegetables can be moulded and are not edible anymore. For instance, Vietnamese cabbage has to be kept at cool temperatures and maintained relative humidity, otherwise, it will result in moisture loss and decay. In conclusion, using planes to transport fruit and vegetables can be a positive approach because it brings monetary benefits to countryman and solves global hunger. However, it could cost different expenses and require effort for preservation.