Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, there is a common tendency for many couples to give birth at many older ages compared to the past. This trend could be explained by modernization and the development of individualism, however, I hold a belief that the disadvantages of having children later outweigh its advantages due to the harm to newborn’s health and the impact of the huge generation gap. To begin with, there are noticeable reasons why many couples tend to delay their parenthood. Firstly, the significant development of modernization leads to the tendency of youngsters to immigrate to many big cities. However, they might face a concern about the high prices in a variety of aspects such as accommodation, food or transportation. Therefore, many people usually struggle with making a living to survive in such urban areas rather than thinking about having kids. For example, in Ha Noi City - the capital of Vietnam, a couple could make around 1,000 USD per month, just enough to pay for the basic living conditions without children. Moreover, young people in the modern era tend to follow individualism, in which they totally focus on their own lives and decrease their care on other intimate relationships such as family or friendship. In many Asian countries, such as Korea or China, for instance, the young usually keep track of a model of success, which has high-paying jobs to make a great deal of money. Thus, they could splash out on penthouses or luxury cars, which enhance them to be a part of high-order societies. It is understandable that a kid would not exist in the mentioned tendency and also the least care in many young people’s lives. Despite the negative and positive impacts of this trend, I believe that its disadvantages are significantly greater than its advantages. One of the main drawbacks is that a newborn could meet many problems relating to their health. Through several years of sacrificing for their careers, the mother might not be in the springtime of youth due to the ageing process. Indeed, many reports said that the current tendency to give birth after the age of 30 could cause a number of congenital disorders such as Down Syndrome. Besides, delaying parenthood also relates to the generation gap between parents and their kids. Although kids have obeyed their moms and dads since their childhood, the juvenile could show different behaviours, especially their ideology on the way they should live the rest of their lives. For instance, there are many differences which could be seen between Gen Z and their parents, the majority are Gen Millennial and 20 years older than them. Their parents would like their children to put down roots as sustainable jobs and footholds in society in the way of hard studying for being white-collar workers. However, children nowadays would like to belong to an appropriate working environment, which improves their self-growth rather than concentrating on making money. In conclusion, the changes in modernization and individualism result in the trend of having kids at a later age than in the past. It reckons that this development could pose many problems, including infant health effects and the generation gap.