Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Other disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently, tourism is fast becoming a major part of our society. Some individuals believe that when visiting a different country,one should follow the host's customs and behaviour while others have a contrary view, which is that the host country should be more welcoming to cultural diversities. This essay would be discussing both sides of the argument and point out my opinion. Nowadays, people are becoming more curious about the different cultures around the world hence the dramatic increase in tourism. On the one hand, this diversity in customs and traditions is what makes the country unique and attracted a lot of people in the first place so expecting visitors to abide by them is not completely out of place. Over the years, there have been incidences of utter disrespect to a countries traditions which resulted in detrimental consequences for the locals. For example, in the southern part of Nigeria, some foreigners swan in a local river which was regarded as sacred and their source of good health, the indigenes suddenly started falling sick and the river dried up mysteriously which had a huge negative impact on the lives of the locals. In my opinion,the importance of following a host nations rules and regulations is a sign of respect and cannot be overemphasized. On the other hand, those who argue that countries around the world should be more accommodating may do so on the basis of the enormous financial contribution that comes with tourist as well as their relatively short stay. When visiting a foreign country people tend to go with a lot of money that is spent on hotels, food and tourist sites. This usually contributes significantly to the economy, in fact,some countries like Dubai is totally dependent on the income raised from tourism. It is expected that with such a major contribution, visitors should be more welcomed and treated nicely. Furthermore, most people spend around 2 weeks on holidays that is why they expect flexibility and warmth during their visit. In conclusion, tourism is now a significant aspect of our lives. While some visitors think the host country should accept the diversity in cultures and be more welcoming others believe tourists should follow local traditions and I strongly concur with the latter view.