Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In today's controversial issue, children are obligated to receive the education to be good citizens at a very young age. While some people believe that they should learn a lot of skills at school, others feel that this should be handled by their parents as a more important role. There are both sides to these arguments, which will be elaborated more below. To begin with, opponents of formal education opine that every child has a unique character and a different society, so that parents, first education for children, have an important role to undergo the customized approaches that fit with young people’s characters and environment. For example, children who live in religious surroundings may become people who are diligent in worship. In addition, parents have a responsibility in nurturing and teaching a child mainly in their ethical values and the way to be good behaviour through the action. The reason is that children have more tendency to imitate that their parents do, so they could give them good activities such as throwing rubbish in the bin, obeying the rules, and something else. On the other hand, the proponent of this view says that educational institutions presumably would bring more positive impact for children. There have teachers, as professional educators, who have few better and proven methods to educate children. This is because they have extensive knowledge in their fields knowing the best materials to educate pupils especially in soft skills such as communication and problem-solving. Additionally, schools are organized to be comprised of children of all economical, social and racial profiles. Those environments probably require them to adapt and get to know one another which will teach young people about tolerance and sharing. In conclusion, it seems to me that the professional educator and variety of environments in the school would probably bring more positive impact for children to become a beneficial member of society. This is as long as children obtain the precise upbringings in their home.