Some people say that what children watch on TV influences their behavior, while others say the amount of time children spend watching TV influences their behavior. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Children like to spend their leisure hours watching television. Some believe that the content of the TV programmes influence young adult's behaviour while others argue that it is the duration of this activity that has an effect on them. While sitting in front of a TV for a long duration will make them lazy, I have to agree that the content is more impactful on their mind. Watching TV for several hours straight daily could turn children into lazy teenagers. They might end up spending all their study hours in front of a TV which will then affect their grades. For instance, when I was doing GCE O level, I was so much addicted to a Korean TV series that I watched it the entire night and headed to school the next day feeling exhausted. Due to the lack of sleep, I was unable to concentrate during my classes as well. I came to a realization when I saw my grades drop drastically. Since then, I self-disciplined myself to only spend an hour watching TV on weekends. The content of television shows could actually turn children into bad people. As TV channels cater to different groups of audiences, children might be watching movies that include extreme violence or actions that show how to do things illegally. It is very possible that children make reference to such scenes in the future for their wrongdoings. For example, I recently came across a piece of news where the juvenile committed a serious offence at his school. When he gave evidence, he mentioned that he got the idea from a crime television series. All in all, while both how much time spent in front of a TV and what is watched matters, watching shows and movies that are not suitable for children could influence them more.