Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is no denying the fact that punishing criminal activities is essential. While it is a commonly held belief that in order to lower the crime rate prisoners must spend longer hours in lockup, there is also an argument that opposes this controversial topic. This essay will analyse both points of view and express my opinion. To begin with, reducing confinement sentences might be useful in some case scenarios. In other words, criminals with violent tendencies and first-degree records, should not spend less time in jail. In addition, decreasing periods for teenagers and individuals with minor crime rates or first-time offences is reasonable because these types of people will be affected if they spend long periods in lockup. For example, statistics reveal information about an evaluation was made regarding youngsters involved with criminal activities, they had become great activists in their community due to serving service community hours instead of going to penitentiary. In other words, there are many effective alternatives to penitentiary. Firstly, sending criminals to rehab. It is also possible to say that criminals with psychological issues and a past full emotional abuse must be treated in health centres. Moreover, resolving these issues might be beneficial to reduce dysfunctional communities. In conclusion, there is no right or wrong answer to this question. On balance, however, raising awareness among people to be united and collaborative might help raise a supportive society that will result in reducing crime levels.