Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Imagine living in a house without a TV in it. How would it be? This is a new invention that was introduced to our parents. It started with the shape of a box and then began to become slimmer. For the time being, TV is becoming an integral part of children’s lives, and this situation has both advantages and disadvantages. There are a lot of benefits to family members from watching diverse programs. First of all, they can build a strong knowledge by seeing channels like National Geography. In addition, their critical thinking and problem-solving skills will be improved due to the large amount of information received. Finally, a person will be definitely detached from the world if he does not put an eye on this device and see what is happening outside. In contrast, spending a lot of time on television has numerous downsides. One of them is wasting the time on series which do not have too many positives. Despite that there are many good sources that anyone can follow, there are still a number of them that are considered repetitive and without meaning. Moreover, television is considered a passive tool, so the audiences are not interacting and speaking with anyone which is not good for their communication abilities. All in all, enjoying time on the TV is a double-edged sword. Thus, I encourage people to manage and control the period spent on this device in order to minimize its negative effects and benefit from its positives. Additionally, I believe that too much of anything is never good.