Some people like to do their everyday shopping at large supermarkets. Others want to go to several small stores or local markets to buy what they need. Which style of shopping do you prefer and why? Give reasons and examples to support your answer.

Shopping is one of the best hobbies for people. Some individuals like to shop in malls; however, others prefer to go to local shops or markets. I like both according to the situation. This essay will explain the reasons with suitable examples in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the first and foremost reason behind buying things from large retail centres is time and cost savings. To explain it, there are plenty of shops present at supermarkets so individuals can purchase everything in one place, which will not only save their time but also be cost-effective due to the discounts available on big brands. For instance, the Scarborough town centre has a lot of shops in one place, such as Walmart, Pandora, Gucci, Guess, Gap, and so on, and these stores also offer discounts on purchasing more than one item, so customers can purchase things in bulk. Moving further, some people believe that acquiring goods from small shops is best because they believe that shopping from local stores is cheaper. To elaborate on it, if the masses go shopping in super malls, especially children, then they are attracted towards the looks and class, and they spend beyond their budget, which will put them in trouble. On the other side, corner stalls can buy products cheaper and according to their need. Nextly, for some people it is difficult to manage their expenses with their salary for all month, they need to buy groceries at the end of the month when they do not have money; so, they go to local shops and pay after they get their salaries, which is not possible in a big retailer centre. For instance, the survey conducted by Chandigarh University showed that more than 70% of the masses in India pay their bills on the date that is chosen by the customer and shopper. To conclude, although shopping at supermarkets offers a variety of benefits, small stores also have their benefits. So, a balanced approach is beneficial for both the employer and the consumer.