In some countries people encourage teenagers to find part-time jobs. Some people agree and others don’t. Review both sides and give your opinion.

Working part-time has been widely discussed among people. While some people argue that adolescents need to find part-time jobs, others indicate that letting youth work part-time is not beneficial. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I think teenagers should not be encouraged to find jobs. To begin with, people encourage students to get into the workforce as there are a plethora of benefits. First of all, young people will acquire know-how by having real-life experiences. For example, they get to learn how to remain calm and resolve problems when they are confronted with problems after they experience similar episodes of conflicts with customers, colleagues or bosses. In addition, they have an opportunity to know themselves. For instance, a teenager who started to work as a cooking assistant because he/she loved to cook realised that he/she was very bad at cooking and began to find other occupations. On the other hand, other people do not let adolescents have part-time jobs for there are myriads of disadvantages. Firstly, working can draw students ' attention away from studying. It is undeniable that they can not concentrate on studying when they work hard and get exhausted. Secondly, if teenagers had bad experiences such as exploitation, they will have a life-long trauma that will affect them negatively. For instance, if they became a target of bullying at the workplace, it will be hard for them to overcome this trauma and become a decent member of society. To sum up, whilst encouraging youth to find part-time jobs has positive aspects such as increased know-hows and finding their aptitude, it also entails negative aspects. These include interfering with students ' studies and leaving them with life-long trauma. In my opinion, students should not be encouraged to work as disadvantages take precedence over advantages.