In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that people in some countries can watch some criminal trials live on TV. While I acknowledge the benefits of this decision, they are outweighed by its problems. The advantages of televising trials on a casual basis are indeed in plain sight. Firstly, court shows, theoretically, were started with a view to informing adults, and children alike, of how the judicial system works. Obviously, the more knowledgeable one is about the criminal justice system, the less likely he or she is to commit an unlawful act. Reports have suggested that court shows are cost-effective ways for the authorities to enforce the law and deal with the escalating crime rate, as the information provided in the show can deter would-be offenders. Secondly, since most citizens have doubts about the effectiveness of their country’s justice system, televised trials are perhaps a way to allow more transparency in the judicial branch of the government. Despite the positives mentioned above, the negative ramifications of allowing cameras in the courtroom are far more significant. Flashing lights and camera lenses may put the judge, who must always be of sound mind, off his stride and hence affect his judgements. In other words, the final verdict given by the judge decides whether the defendant is guilty or not and may be affected due to the presence of cameras. Moreover, after all the editing, court shows have become entertainment shows, failing to deter criminals or they might become a tool for the authorities to manipulate the viewers, precluding transparency rather than promoting it. In conclusion, streaming criminal trials on TV might be beneficial, for example in the form of informing the public and making judicial procedures more transparent. However, court shows might serve as nothing short of entertainment or even a means of manipulation, and so these potential problems negate the aforementioned benefits.