Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this statement?

Medical facilities to a person should not be provided for free irrespective of his financial status. The well-being of a person is in his own hands, so they should be taking care of themselves, entirely. However, I strongly disagree with this notion and believe that the audience living below the poverty line and government employees should be given free medical care. To begin with, the first and foremost reason to support my viewpoint is that the majority of the people in developing countries lie below the poverty line due to which they can not avail themselves of medications. The reason for this is they usually are uneducated and work on low wage jobs, as a result, they are unable to provide a nutritive diet and medical facilities to their family members. For instance, according to a survey by 'The Times', 30% of children in developing areas of Mumbai suffer from malnutrition as their parents have no money to feed them, therefore in that situation only government can provide a helping hand. Secondly, my opinion is further bolstered by the factor that the good health of working employees defines the growth of the nation as employment sectors are largely responsible for proliferating the economy of the country. In this modern and hectic lifestyle, individuals are working relentlessly in various sectors such as education, health, agriculture and information technology, as a consequence, the productivity of these areas leads to the development of the nation. Henceforth, to produce a healthy workforce for the betterment of the country it is important for the governing authorities to provide healthcare facilities. The free medical coverage for the native people of the USA serves as the best example of this approach. In conclusion, while everyone is responsible for keeping themselves fit, in my perspective, the provision of medical subsidies by the government is vital not only for the financially poor community but also for the working professionals to uplift the economy of the country.