Some people think about learning a foreign language but cannot use it frequently. What are the difficulties that people face while learning a foreign language? What can be done to overcome them?

These days, it is popular for people to learn a foreign language, but not many people can use it on a regular basis. In this essay, I will discuss the obstacles in people ’s foreign language learning process and propose several feasible measures to help learners overcome difficulties. It is believed that learners may face numerous challenges which hinder their acquisition of a new language. First of all, many people may find it challenging to learn new words and memorize them. Indeed, to communicate well in a foreign language, learners need to have a wide range of vocabulary which can only accumulate through a long period of time. For example, non-native speakers like Vietnamese people often have difficulties in studying new English words and using them in the right context naturally. Besides, differences in grammatical structures and pronunciation may also challenge many learners. This can be exemplified by Japanese or Korean which has a totally different alphabet from the Latin one, so it is quite difficult for foreigners to learn these languages or pronounce the sounds accurately. There are numerous approaches that can be applied to support learners while studying a new language. First of all, thanks to technological developments, many apps such as Quizlet which facilitate learning and memorizing new vocabulary in a more interactive and interesting way are programmed and published without any charge. By using these apps, new words can be reviewed many times by funny games or activities, making learners feel less stressed about a huge amount of new words. Besides, to master the pronunciation as well as the use of grammar structures, people should let them get exposed to foreign languages as much as possible. In other words, reflexes through real-life interactions can reinforce and support our minds to use new languages in a natural way. In conclusion, it is somehow challenging for people to learn and use a new language because of some difficulties related to vocabulary, grammatical structures and the way they pronounce words. Nevertheless, people can overcome these challenges by integrating technologies in their learning process and trying to get exposure to a new language in real situations.