Many people believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is more efficient way to deal with crime. whats your opinion?.

In the contemporary world, the crime rate is significantly rising around the world. Many people argue that the best way to tackle crime is to have a fixed punishment. I completely agree that this approach would not only decrease the crime rate but also bring a positive change in offenders' lives. To begin with, many people, including myself, argue that categorizing the punishments according to the severity of the offense is the best way to deal with it and has led to a decrease in the crime rate. For instance, people who commit shoplifting should be sentenced to six months in prison, and citizens involved in murder cases should be sentenced to a lifetime in jail. This approach would create a panic feeling in the criminals, and hence, they would think twice before involving in any illegal activities. The United States Of America introduced this approach last year, and the government witnessed a significant fall in the crime rate from 40 per cent to 10 per cent. Additionally, many people believe that fixed punishments, along with counseling and creating awareness, would bring a positive change in criminals and help to lead a peaceful life after release from prison. For example, the country Japan has introduced this fixed punishment law along with career guidance and support for criminals in jails. Reports showed that 80% of offenders stopped committing crimes and led a normal life after jail. This would be evidence that fixed punishments for crimes are the best way to deal with them. To summarize, punishments according to the type of crime are an appropriate way to reduce the crime rate, and I strongly believe that it not only minimizes the crime rate but also brings positive results for criminals.