Some people believe that there will be a reduction in air travel in the future. Do you think that this trend is positive or negative?

In years to come, there is a tendency that air travel will become less popular. From my perspective, this phenomenon should be seen as a positive development because it not only mitigates carbon dioxide emission and oil depletion but also reduces noise pollution caused by aeroplanes. If there is a diminution in air travel, first of all, the bulk of fossil fuel emission will be dramatically reduced. This is because aeroplanes run on kerosene fuel, which when combusted, releases a large chunk of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Therefore, less flying could result in less carbon footprint. This is evident according to the Environmental Protection Agency pointing out that the global carbon emission dramatically decreased in 2020 due to the aviation restriction caused by the outbreak. Additionally, a reduction of oil depletion, which creates huge impacts on the environment, could be seen as the largest consumer is gone. Every day thousands of aeroplanes travel from point A to B and a significant amount of oil is used. As a result, decreasing air traffic would save a substantial quantity of oil. Furthermore, aircraft noise pollution, which is associated with several health effects from sleeping disorders to high blood pressure, will be eliminated. In other words, when there are fewer flights, people who live near airports will not be harmed by aviation noise. A number of surveys demonstrate that 25 per cent of those residing and those near airports suffer from hearing problems and insomnia. In summary, I would argue that the reduction of flying is generally a positive development, as a greater amount of carbon dioxide emission and the level of noise pollution will be decreased and less oil will be extracted from the ground.