Government investment in the art, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree

The debate surrounding an age-old issue regarding how the government should allocate the national budget has always been divisive. An astounding number of citizens are calling for a greater portion of such money to be put towards public services; namely healthcare, education, etc. Additionally, they think that politicians are putting an excessive amount of cash towards infrastructure relating to art like theatres and concert houses which would only benefit the public in terms of entertainment. This essay will elucidate the aforementioned matter, as well as evaluate if my own personal view aligns with the statement above or not. On the one hand, the significance of a country's investment towards intangible initiation must not be glossed over. Governments exist to serve their nation's population, therefore, it only makes sense that the public cost should be used to improve healthcare, solve illiteracy issues, emphasize social benefits towards the elderly, end homelessness and poverty etc. Moreover, the improvement of public services leads to an increase in the overall productivity and life quality of the nation's people, which strengthens the country's economy and in turn, their power. It should come as no surprise that those who put an emphasis on public services, for example, the United States and the United Kingdom, are the biggest in terms of political and economic power. Therefore, the investment towards such services is justified and must be focused on. On the other hand, some would argue that investing in art can also improve the public's life quality as it helps to alleviate stress through relaxing plays and concerts. However, such investments tend to be liabilities rather than assets. Not only are they costly to maintain, but also they do not serve many purposes other than to host shows and plays - which are inaccessible to impoverished citizens. All in all, the total allocation should be put towards ending poverty and improving schools rather than be spent on unused theatres. To summarize, I agree that a huge portion of the national budget should be allocated towards improving public services. Politicians should emphasize how the money would benefit their country's people and not how to spend it on excessive means of art.