Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environmental issues, such as global warming and pollution, have been an argent problem to deal with over the last century. Some have a notion that the government and corporations are accountable for nature on the earth. I partially dispute this opinion and am going to expand my thought in this essay. It is undoubted that the government plays an important role in preserving our natural circumstances. First of all, they have the authority to create new regulations to discourage people to undertake harmful activities to the environment (disposal of rubbish, car driving and more). Secondly, spending more national budget on the development of the technology which can promote the protection of nature is also a government responsibility. Lastly but not least, the government subsidies for the use of sustainable energy can be a huge factor for residents to contribute to nature. These government strategies, however, largely depend on the contribution of individuals and what the government can do is to motivate them to be involved. In addition to the opinion mentioned above, there is some evidence of how individual effort can make a countless difference. Take cloud funding for example, even though the donation by one person is tiny, the total amount of money the person who set up the funding could be substantial if people all over the world take part in this. Furthermore, even without government support, each individual can undertake small contributions in their everyday lives. For instance, reducing the number of car use and recycling daily rubbish can be the most straightforward and easiest options for the prevention of environmental destruction. In conclusion, not only the government but also each resident are of significant importance to prevent further damage to the earth.