Forests produce fresh oxygen and participate in regulating climate. But every year the tree cover of our planet is lessening due to deforestation. What are the primary causes of deforestation? To what results may it lead?

These days, it is widely believed that forests are an integral part of the Earth as it helps to purify the air. However, deforestation has had a sharp rise recently, which is regarded as a pressing problem. Therefore, several major causes and harmful effects will be addressed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the root cause of the above issue is agricultural expansion. There is a fact that small-scale farmers have been converting forestland to cropland and pasture, mostly for subsistence, which is growing crops or raising livestock to meet daily needs. Moreover, the massive construction of urban infrastructure and residential housing cause actions of logging or cutting down trees in the areas. For example, people have destroyed primary woodland to build industrial parks, widen roads, or extend houses to serve people's needs in recent years. Since then, several consequences could be taken into consideration. First and foremost, one of the unsettling effects of deforestation is the loss of animal and plant species due to their loss of habitats; as studies have shown that 70% of land animals and plant species live in the jungle. Moreover, further effects also include soil erosion and coastal flooding. Trees help the land to retain water and topsoil, which provides the rich nutrients to sustain forest life; consequently, without forests, erosion will occur more frequently through excessive rains and floods. Additionally, the barren land which is left behind by these unsustainable agricultural practices is then more susceptible to flooding, especially in coastal regions. In conclusion, deforestation is one of the biggest challenges that humanity faces today and in the future. Therefore, governments should implement legislation associated with protecting woodland, and educate regional communities to restrict this peril.