Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has had negative effects on young people's reading and writing skills.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it has been quite common for people, especially young ones, to use electronic devices, such as computers and smartphones, to communicate with others, due to technological advances. However, some individuals argue that this behaviour has some negative effects on youngsters' reading and writing skills. From my perspective, I tend to agree with this view. One main reason in favour of this opinion is that it undermines readers' deep-reading ability. For example, when young adults choose to read online, they often skim a passage or a news report quickly in the way of spotting only some key isolated words. It severely limits their time to imagine the story they are reading and their emotions to experience the author's happiness and sadness. Thus, they just stay at the surface of the vocabulary and sentences without deep thinking. Besides, constant communication through electronic devices adversely affects teenagers' writing ability. That is because when a person uses a computer or cell phone to type words, the cutting-edge software in them often automatically corrects some spelling and grammatical mistakes, which leads individuals to fail to consciously recognise these errors if writing in a traditional way. On the other hand, it is undeniable that this kind of communication exerts some positive influences on writing. When people opt to employ a computer to write, it is very convenient for them to search for some valuable information as a reference to improve their writing. Furthermore, some websites supply the function to comment on essays and some given suggestions are very constructive. However, some individuals may rely too much on technology -- using it to write articles directly. In conclusion, I tend to agree with the view that this trend has caused some detrimental impacts on people's reading and writing abilities. In order to avoid the drawbacks mentioned above, people should realise the danger of too much reliance on electronic devices and try to spend some time on previous methods to read and write.