To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. why do you think it is important to do so? what will be the effect if children are not taught history?

History and heritage are the core identity of a human being, even though some believe it is not necessary to learn past as it has very little impact on the present. But I believe it is quite important to do so. The main reason for history to be important is that it represents each and every individual better. Heritage is not just facts but also involves investigation and interpretation. Which ultimately can be represented through art, music or language where traditions are created around them. Hence it is vital that people are at least aware of their own cultures. Also, incidents and conflicts that happened in earlier days teach us lessons that cannot be taught elsewhere. For instance, the facts about World War 2, teach us how we can avoid conflicts and how we can act rationally in such situations in order to mitigate misunderstandings and world disasters. Another reason could be that the past provides us insights into life in many ways and helps us appreciate where we are today and who we are. Because of that, it is evident that learning about one's own origin is not just a learning process but also has a huge impact on present lives as well. On the other hand, if kids are not taught history at all they will lack skills such as thinking, interpretation and artistic skills on many different levels. People with no appreciation for their own culture tend to be less humble. Consequently, this may end up with societies that include citizens with no gratifications at all. Moreover, that may be a root cause for arguments and misunderstandings, which may eventually create a dent in world peace. In conclusion, it is vital that kids learn about the past from early childhood onward, as it will mostly be what defines and shapes their lives as adults and it will be the one that keeps each and every one grounded, even though it seems like it has a very little impact in the present.