Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Without a doubt pollution and traffic congestion are the biggest problems that cities are facing in the current world. As an initiative to reduce this problem some governments implemented no-vehicle policies on some days. In my opinion, there are advantages to encouraging people to take public transport. But, in order to make it more successful, officials need to implement additional steps. To begin with, worldwide cities are crowded with an influx of migrants from other areas, and it ultimately resulted in an increased number of cars, trucks on the roads, and caused distress. Although passengers know the terrific problems associated with their own transportation, such as commute-time, travel-cost and air pollution, still they tend to follow the same process. For example, in major downtowns, office goers resist to go by local trains even it reduces travel time and cost drastically. So, to arrest this phenomenon and made them use public transit is by banning their own motors on roads at least for certain days in a week. As a result, citizens will come out of their comfort zone and adapt to it, irrespective of challenges. On the other hand, forceful restriction of private vehicles on the roads alone is not the right approach, without sufficient counter solutions are in place. Firstly, officials need to educate commuters on the need of stopping the use of their own vehicles and awareness of available alternative options to gain their confidence. Else, it will create a lot of confusion and agitation against the transportation department, and it leads to public dissatisfaction. Secondly, all the houses in the city should have well-established connecting routes and bus services to all the public and private buildings and facilities. In conclusion, even banning personal vehicles, simply to promote travellers to use public transport solely, does not solve the problem, until unless proper remediation steps are taken well in advance.