Many people in today's society enjoy watching movies or TV programs about crime. What makes them so appealing to people? What is the impact of this on individuals and society?

there is a shred of mounting evidence indicating that people are prone to watch crime genre movies and TV programs and enjoy them. This phenomenon is attributed to a number of causative factors Such as interesting strategies off these kinds of films, but the effects on people and society are by no means negligible. as regards the root causes, there are two which should be taken into consideration. Firstly, these movies arouse one’s curiosity by their fascinating plot. To put it differently, these programs are made to hold one's interest continuously and rivet their attention on what happens next, so people are more likely to watch them until the final credits roll. Take the movie Gone girl as a salient example; by the mysterious disappearance of the main role people are persuaded to watch the whole movie and the story makes it unmatched by any other movie genre. Additionally, these movies are mostly based on real incidents so most people may have experienced the same thing or at least heard about it from a friend or a family member so it is eye-catching for them to watch the whole story. On the other hand, the damaging impacts of this attraction toward the series or programs should be noted. To begin with the most crucial effect, people become aware of crimes and incidents going on in society. Simply put, these features are more likely to open up one’s eye to the truth and make society try to be a better place for people to live. A good illustration of this is Knives out which is based on truth and has a plot is surrounded by the death of a novelist. Secondly, it also can have negative influences such as psychological distress like anxiety and stress which should be measured. People may feel unsafe everywhere they go and they can't trust others easily. Also, society won't have a trustworthy atmosphere. in conclusion, the tendency of watching crime programs is soaring in today's society, while the impacts of this trend could be both problematic and rewarding. In my view, the benefits for individuals and society are of importance.